No mow may, I protect pollinators

Share

In our community, every gesture counts to preserve local biodiversity and support our precious pollinators. That is why we are proud to present the Dandelion Challenge, an initiative that offers everyone the opportunity to contribute to this essential cause.

As the Dandelion Challenge website puts it, “On an individual level, getting involved starts with a simple but effective action: delay mowing the lawn in spring, allowing pollinators to replenish their supply of pollen and nectar from dandelions and other flowers”. By taking part in this challenge, you are offering bees and other pollinating insects a vital source of food, promoting their well-being and survival.

With pollinators under increasing threat, awareness of their importance is more crucial than ever. Pollinators play an essential role in our ecosystem, ensuring the reproduction of many plants on which our food and health directly depend. Their decline could have serious repercussions on our food supply and the diversity of our environment, underlining the urgent need to act to protect them.

We invite you to join this initiative by letting the dandelions grow on your property during the month of May.

THE CITY EMBARKS ON THE ADVENTURE GRADUALLY:

This year, on certain city lots, the vacant lots identified by a a poster will remind us of this approach, inviting us to postpone lawn mowing in order to offer nectar and pollen to pollinating insects thanks to the dandelions naturally present in the lawns.

Together, we can make a real difference to protecting local biodiversity and ensuring a flourishing future for our pollinators.

Thank you for your commitment to our environment.

In the same category

Green initiatives to discover

April 24, 2024
Dollard-des-Ormeaux unveils three videos on environmental subsidy programs available to its residents

Buckthorn control in Centennial Park

April 19, 2024
In the next few weeks, our teams will be felling Buckthorn trees/shrubs...

Reducing and sorting our waste is a winner!

October 11, 2023
During Quebec's Waste Reduction Week from October 20 to 29, 2023...

Collection delays, operations underway. Thank you for your patience!

Mai sans tondeuse, je protège les pollinisateurs

Partager

Au sein de notre communauté, chaque geste compte pour préserver la biodiversité locale et soutenir nos précieux pollinisateurs. C’est pourquoi nous sommes fiers de vous présenter le défi Pissenlits, une initiative qui offre à chacun l’opportunité de contribuer à cette cause essentielle.

Comme l’exprime le site du défi Pissenlits, « À l’échelle individuelle, l’implication débute par une prise d’action simple, mais efficace: retarder la tonte du gazon au printemps, permettant ainsi aux pollinisateurs de faire le plein de pollen et de nectar issus des pissenlits et autres fleurs« . En participant à ce défi, vous offrez aux abeilles et autres insectes pollinisateurs une source vitale de nourriture, favorisant ainsi leur bien-être et leur survie.

Face à la menace croissante qui pèse sur les pollinisateurs, la sensibilisation à leur importance est plus cruciale que jamais. Les pollinisateurs, jouent un rôle essentiel dans notre écosystème en assurant la reproduction de nombreuses plantes dont dépendent directement notre alimentation et notre santé. Leur déclin pourrait avoir des répercussions graves sur notre approvisionnement alimentaire et la diversité de notre environnement, soulignant ainsi l’urgence d’agir pour les protéger.

Nous vous invitons donc à vous joindre à cette initiative en laissant pousser les pissenlits sur votre terrain durant le mois de mai.

LA VILLE SE LANCE DANS L’AVENTURE DE FAÇON PROGRESSIVE:

Cette année, sur certains terrains de la ville, les lots vacants identifiés par des affiches rappelleront cette démarche, invitant à retarder la tonte de gazon afin d’offrir nectar et pollen aux insectes pollinisateurs grâce aux pissenlits naturellement présents dans les pelouses.

Ensemble, nous pouvons faire une réelle différence pour protéger la biodiversité locale et assurer un avenir florissant pour nos pollinisateurs.

Merci pour votre engagement envers notre environnement.

Dans la même catégorie

Des initiatives vertes à découvrir

24 avril 2024
Dollard-des-Ormeaux dévoile trois vidéos sur les programmes de subvention environnementales offerts à ses résidents

Contrôle du Nerprun au parc du Centenaire

19 avril 2024
Au cours des prochaines semaines, nos équipes procéderont à l'abattage du Nerprun...

Réduire et trier nos déchets, c’est gagnant!

11 octobre 2023
À l’occasion de la semaine québécoise de réduction des déchets du 20 au 29 octobre 2023...

Retard de collectes, opérations en cours. Merci de votre compréhension!